TCR Talk Review: 2019 ADAC TCR Germany Touring Car Championship – Zandvoort

After following the likes of the FIA World Touring Car Cup (WTCR), the TCR Europe Touring Car Series and the TCR UK Touring Car Championship in recent seasons, TCR Talk will be following a new series for 2019:

The 2019 ADAC TCR Germany Touring Car Championship

Here is the TCR Talk roundup of all the action that took place at Circuit Zandvoort, from Qualifying all the way through to Race One on Saturday and Race Two on Sunday…

Dominik Fugel wins pole position in Qualifying

Dominik Fugel. Credit: ADAC Motorsport/Gruppe C

In a wet Qualifying session at Zandvoort, Dominik Fugel claimed his maiden pole position in the ADAC TCR Germany Touring Car Championship. In Q2, Fugel drove his Profi-Car Honda Civic to complete a lap of the Dutch circuit in 1:59.960, thirty six-thousandths of a second fastest than Bradley Burns in the Pyro Motorsport run Honda Civic.

The three title contenders – Harald Proczyk, Mike Halder and Antti Buri – filled positions third to fifth, with Proczyk who setting the third fastest lap. In the process, the Austrian cut two points off Buri’s championship-leading margin to 11 points.

In Q1, Mike Halder set the fastest lap of 1:58.697 just before the chequered flag fell, demoting Max Hesse and Burns to second and third respectively. The top-twelve who advanced to Q2 were completed by Fugel, Buri, Proczyk, Hyundai’s guest driver Lance David Arnold, Théo Coicaud, Mitchell Cheah, René Kircher, Michelle Halder and Julien Apothéloz.

Julien Apothéloz. Credit: ADAC Motorsport/Gruppe C

Jan Seyffert failed to make the cut in the Lubner Motorsport run LADA Vesta, finishing in thirteenth position, two tenths behind Apothéloz.

Proczyk clocked the first provisional fastest lap in Q2, but was soon beaten by Burns. Fugel jumped to the top with the time of 1:58.960 on his second flying lap, then Burns improved to 1:58.996 but it wasn’t enough to beat Fugel and he had to settle for second place.

The last driver to improve was Apothéloz who advanced from tenth to seventh, leaving pole position on the top-ten reversed grid for race two to Arnold.

Max Hesse wins a thrilling Race 1 at Zandvoort

Max Hesse. Credit: ADAC Motorsport/Gruppe C

Max Hesse claimed his maiden victory in the ADAC TCR Germany Touring Car Championship, as he emerged as the winner of a thrilling first race at Zandvoort after starting from sixth on the grid. Reigning champion Harald Proczyk finished third, behind Mike Halder and closed within five points of Antti Buri in the standings.

Julien Apothéloz was stripped of his seventh place on the grid because of a ride height infringement and started from tenth place on the grid. Théo Coicaud and Mitchell Cheah, who had qualified sixth and eleventh, were both dropped to the back of the grid after they received their third warning of the season.

At the start, Fugel sprinted away from pole, whilst Mike Halder moved into second after starting from fourth as Proczyk passed Bradley Burns for third. During the first lap, Cheah crashed at turn ten after making contact with Michelle Halder. Cheah limped back to the pits, but the race was red-flagged to allow for repairs to be made to the barriers.

Jan Seyffert in the Lubner Motorsport Lada Vesta. Credit: ADAC Motorsport/Gruppe C

With 20 minutes left on the clock, the safety car led the field back on track for one lap and when racing resumed, Fugel led from Halder, Proczyk, Burns and Buri. On lap four, Proczyk overtook Halder for second, whilst Hesse advanced from eighth to fifth as he overtook Buri, Burns and Lance D. Arnold in a single bold on track move.

Proczyk dived to the inside of Fugel at the first turn on lap six, making contact and seeing Proczyk take the lead, while Fugel lost momentum and dropped to fourth behind Halder and Hesse. Race control ordered Proczyk to swap positions with Fugel and so he dropped to fourth, as Halder took the lead from Hesse and Fugel.

Hesse was able to pass Halder on lap twelve who reacted however contact between the two resulted in Hesse retaking the lead. Proczyk benefitted from the commotion and passed Fugel to finish third.

Lights-to-flag win for Michelle Halder at Zandvoort

Michelle Halder. Credit: ADAC Motorsport/Gruppe C

Michelle Halder became the first female driver to win a race in the ADAC TCR Germany Touring Car Championship as she took an authoritative lights-to-flag win in Zandvoort’s second race.

Antti Buri and her brother Mike completed the podium, whilst Saturday’s race winner Max Hesse finished in ninth position despite driving sideways for the final laps after his car was damaged in a collision with Harald Proczyk.

Michelle Halder started from pole and managed to beat Lance David Arnold to take the lead. As she pulled away tough battles for the positions developed behind with Buri passing René Kircher and Arnold to move into second. Proczyk, Mike Halder, Dominik Fugel and Hesse were driving side by side and made contact on lap two with Proczyk getting the worst of it and dropping from fourth to seventh.

Lance David Arnold. Credit: ADAC Motorsport/Gruppe C

Within a few laps, Mike Halder closed the gap on both Buri and Arnold, while Fugel pitted with a technical issue, which promoted Hesse and Proczyk to fifth and sixth respectively.

On lap ten, Mike Halder passed Arnold for third and began chasing Buri as the fight for fifth place between Hesse and Proczyk culminated with their cars coming together on lap fourteen. Something broke in Hesse’s car that left the young Hyundai driver to control it the car as it was running sideways.

Michelle Halder claimed her maiden victory from Buri, her brother Mike, Arnold and Proczyk.
In the standings, Buri is still leading with a margin of 12 points over Proczyk whilst Mike Halder has moved back into third, 24 points off the leader. Hesse has dropped from third to fourth a further 13 points adrift.

The series now moves to the Nürburgring that will host Rounds nine and ten.

Where can you watch the action?

The 2019 ADAC TCR Germany Touring Car Championship at Zandvoort. Credit: ADAC Motorsport/Gruppe C

The ADAC TCR Germany Series follows the successful route, which has worked for almost all TCR Series around the globe, of showing all of their races live on YouTube.

This is done on the ADAC YouTube Account which you can find here. The ADAC TCR Germany Touring Car Championship is also the only other series outside of WTCR, TCR Europe and TCR UK that has English commentary, so this allows for a wider audience to follow the series. You can also find the races broadcast live at TCR TV.

To catch up with any of the 2019 races that you have missed with English Commentary, please follow the link to my YouTube Playlist:

2019 ADAC TCR Germany

The 2019 ADAC TCR Germany Touring Car Championship at Zandvoort. Credit: ADAC Motorsport/Gruppe C

I will be keeping things up to date on here as well as in The Official TCR Talk Group & The TCR UK Fans Group where members will also be sharing their thoughts and any news from The 2019 FIA World Touring Car Cup (WTCR), The 2019 TCR Europe Touring Car Series, The 2019 TCR UK Touring Car Championship and other Domestic & Regional TCR Series from around the world.

All images are used in this blog are courtesy of ADAC Motorsport-Gruppe C Photography unless otherwise credited.

Until next time, all the best!