TCR Talk Review: 2020 ADAC TCR Germany Touring Car Championship – Lausitzring

After following the likes of the FIA World Touring Car Cup (WTCR), the TCR Europe Touring Car Series and the TCR UK Touring Car Championship in recent seasons, TCR Talk will be following a returning series for 2020:

The 2020 ADAC TCR Germany Touring Car Championship

Here is the TCR Talk roundup of all the action that took place at the Lausitzring, from Qualifying all the way through to Races One and Two on Sunday…

Antti Buri sets the first pole of the year in TCR Germany

Antti Buri. Credit: ADAC Motorsport/Gruppe C

On his first appearance at the wheel of the Hyundai i30 N, Antti Buri set pole position for the opening round of the 2020 ADAC TCR Germany Touring Car Championship at the Lausitzring.

Buri topped both Q1 and Q2 and clocked the fastest lap of 1:28.878 in the second segment of the session; he was the only driver to break the 1:29 wall. Three other Hyundai cars filled the positions behind him.

In Q1, Jan Seyffert posted a first provisional best lap of 1:29.515 that was bettered by Nico Gruber’s 1:29.459 and eventually by Buri’s 1:29.394.

With thirteen cars on the track and only ten admitted to Q2, none of the top drivers took the risk of improving their lap times and positions. Eventually, only Salminen, Legutko and Tovilavičius did not make the cut.

All the fastest times in Q2 were set on the first lap out, with Buri topping the list ahead of Seyffert, Gruber and Harald Proczyk;

Dominik Fugel and Mike Halder took fifth and sixth places in their respective Profi Car Honda ADAC Saxony entries and sister Michelle Halder sealed seventh place at the wheel of her Profi-Car Team Halder Honda.

Rookie Nico Gruber claims an authoritative win

Niko Gruber. Credit: ADAC Motorsport/Gruppe C

The opening race of the 2020 ADAC TCR Germany Touring Car Championship at the Lausitzring resulted in an authoritative victory of Austrian rookie Nico Gruber at the wheel of one of the Engstler Motorsport-run Hyundai i30 N TCR cars.

Gruber took a brilliant start and never looked back, while behind him Mike Halder beat Antti Buri for second place.

At the start, pole sitter Buri hesitated and Gruber sprinted from third on the grid to take the lead into turn one. Behind him and Buri, Mike Halder overtook Jan Seyffert for third during the opening lap.

The race became processional until lap eight when the fight for tenth between Marcel Fugel, Albert Legutko and Michelle Halder resulted in the young Polish driver locking up its front wheels and ending its race in the gravel trap.

The safety car was deployed and circulated for six laps while Legutko’s Honda was towed to a safe position. Suspension failure was later confirmed as the reason for Legutko’s retirement.

Michelle Halder, who had started from the back of the grid after losing her seventh position because of an engine change, was under investigation for having possibly punted Legutko off.

When racing resumed on lap fifteen, Halder stole second from Buri, while Harald Proczyk passed Seyffert for fourth place. The top positions didn’t change, and the final laps were enlivened by the battle for tenth place between Honda stablemates Marcel Fugel and Michelle Halder, with Fugel finishing ahead of Halder.

Dominik Fugel wins Lausitz race two

Dominik Fugel. Credit: ADAC Motorsport/Gruppe C

Dominik Fugel claimed a brilliant victory in the second race of the 2020 ADAC TCR Germany Touring Car Championship at the Lausitzring.

Fugel drove his Profi-Car Team Honda Civic to take the lead shortly after the start and was then able to create a small gap that enabled him to beat the Hyundai cars of Harald Proczyk and Antti Buri, who would go on to finish the race in second and third positions respectively.

René Kircher was on pole on the reversed grid, with Michelle Halder alongside him and was Halder who led the field into turn one.

However, she was soon passed by Dominik Fugel and her brother Mike, dropping to third. One lap later, Proczyk too passed Michelle for third place in his HP Racing International Hyundai. Halder lost another position on lap six when Buri passed her for fourth place.

As Fugel was trying to pull away, behind him Mike Halder’s pace suddenly faded and at the end of lap eight, he pitted and retired. This promoted Proczyk and Buri to second and third, but despite their efforts, they were no able to close in on Fugel who went to claim a dominant victory.

Two laps from the end, Race one winner Nico Gruber was finally able to pass Michelle and moved into fourth place by the end of the race.

this means that Gruber emerged as the leader of the standings after the season opener, with a slim margin of three points over Proczyk, while Buri and Fugel are third and fourth with gaps of five and eight points respectively.

The 2020 ADAC TCR Germany Touring Car Championship will resume at the Nürburgring Grand Prix short circuit, this weekend, on 15-16 August.

Where can you watch the action?

Jan Seyffert. Credit: ADAC Motorsport/Gruppe C

The ADAC TCR Germany Series follows the successful route, which has worked for almost all TCR Series around the globe, of showing all of their races live on YouTube.

This is done on the ADAC YouTube Account which you can find here.

The ADAC TCR Germany Touring Car Championship is also one of a few series along with WTCR, TCR Europe, TCR Malaysia and TCR UK that has English commentary, so this allows for a wider audience to follow the series. You can also find the races broadcast live at TCR TV.

To catch up with any of the 2020 races that you have missed with English Commentary, please follow the link to my YouTube Playlist:

2020 ADAC TCR Germany

Rene Kircher. Credit: ADAC Motorsport/Gruppe C

I will be keeping things up to date on here as well as in The Official TCR Talk Group & The TCR UK Fans Group where members will also be sharing their thoughts and any news from The 2020 FIA World Touring Car Cup (WTCR), The 2020 TCR Europe Touring Car Series, The 2020 TCR UK Touring Car Championship and other Domestic & Regional TCR Series from around the world.

All images are used in this blog are courtesy of ADAC Motorsport-Gruppe C Photography unless otherwise credited.

Until next time, all the best!


Published by

Phil Kinch

Hi, I've been a fan of motorsport for over the past 30 years, following everything from Single Seaters to Touring Cars and to Rallycross. I started writing a blog back in March 2013 on Blogger as Tintop Guru and since then I have written articles and reports on the FIA World Touring Car Championship, The FIA World Rallycross Championship and the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship as well as sharing my thoughts on current Motorsport matters. In 2016 My blog was used to report on the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship and The TCR International Series. I write FIA World Rallycross Championship and FIA European Rallycross Championship reports for and I was an official blogger for the 2015 Autosport International Show. From April 2018, the blog will concentrate solely on the TCR UK Touring Car Championship and the TCR Europe Touring Car Championship.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s